TOGAF Standard Version 9.2

Last Updated : 28-Feb-2021

TOGAF Structure

TOGAF 9.2 is the current gold standard for enterprise architecture frameworks weighing in at an impressive 532 pages. This is a significant amount of material to master but once broken down into its component parts it becomes a bit more manageable.

Part 1: Introduction

This is around 30 pages in length (pages 29-61). It starts with information on the structure of the library and puts forwards the business case for the TOGAF standard. It then goes on to identify the 10 core concepts of TOGAF and lists 85 definitions in alphabetical order from Abstraction through Work Package. It is, as they say, a page turner, and a rapid one at that.

Part 2: ADM (Architecture Development Method)

The ADM section is around 135 pages in length (63-200). This is the real guts of TOGAF. It covers how the ADM sits in the Architecture Development Cycle, the Preliminary Phase which determines the Architecture Capability required by the organization and then establishes it; and then describes the eight phases of the ADM

  1. Architecture Vision
  2. Business Architecture
  3. Information Systems Architecture
  4. Technology Architecture
  5. Opportunities and Solutions
  6. Migration Planning
  7. Implementation Governance
  8. Architecture Change Management

The section finishes up with ADM Architecture Requirements Management which aims to ensure that requirements remain up to date and available throughout the other phases.

Part 3: ADM Guidelines and Techniques

This is around 95 pages in length, (page 201-296). This section discusses the application of the ADM. It purpose to to help where the rubber hits the road. It covers:

  • Iteration of the ADM
  • Architectural Principles
  • Stakeholder Management
  • Architecture Patterns
  • Gap Analysis
  • Migration Planning Techniques
  • Interoperability Requirements
  • Business Transformation Readiness Assessment
  • Risk Management
  • Capability Based Planning

Part 4: Architecture Content Framework

This is around 100 pages long. (299 to 398). This section is about how to organise all the clever stuff we generated and indicate how it should be used. (not just put the printed copies under our monitor stands to raise them up to eye level). It covers:

  • Content Metamodel
  • Architecture Artifacts
  • Architecture Deliverables
  • Architecture Building Blocks

Part 5: Enterprise Continuum and Tools

This is around 30 pages in length (399-430). It deals with the evolution of architecture within an enterprise. It covers:

  • The Enterprise Continuum
  • Architecture Partitioning
  • Architecture Repository
  • Tools for Architecture Development.

Part 6: Architecture Capability Framework

This is around 75 pages in length (431-504). It deals with people and the organisational considerations:

  • Establishing an Architecture Capability
  • Architecture Board
  • Architecture Compliance
  • Architecture Contracts
  • Architecture Governance
  • Architecture Maturity Models
  • Architecture Skills Framework


AN INTRODUCTION TO THE TOGAF® STANDARD, VERSION 9.2 – download file is w182.pdf (22 pages)

THE TOGAF® STANDARD, VERSION 9.2 download file is c182m.pdf (532 pages)

Using Template: Template Post
magnifier linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram